The inaugural Sigiriya Rally Cross 2009 was the last event scheduled in the 2009 Championship calendar.  The event saw an entry list of 14 competitors.


Dinesh with a tyre failure on Saturdays qualifying was fortunate only to complete 2 laps out of the 4 laps offered.  However with the 2 laps he completed, Dinesh was placed 3rd on the grid.

Race 01 was a tough one for Dinesh as he lost one place to Janaka Dias in his Subaru STi IX and the result was Dinesh was placed 4th in this race. 

At the end of race 01 Dinesh’s main rival Aravinda Premadasa was placed in a comfortable position to secure the SLARDAR Championship and he just needed to finish the race 02 ahead of Dinesh.


However at the start of race 02 Aravinda’s EVO VII had a gear box failure and thus was classified as DNF (Did Not Finish).  With this occurrence Pasindu Peiris in his EVO IX GT became the biggest contender for Dinesh to secure the Championship as he went on to win both races at Sigiriya Rally Cross 2009.


However Dinesh finishing 3rd in race 02 secured him of the National Championship and the SLARDAR Championship for 2009.

There will be one more Championship to be concluded this year and that will be the MRA Rally Championship and the last round will be held on November 22, 2009 at Sevanagala.

Powered by Infinity Web